PINK MONDAY

putting our money where our heart is

Yellow Monday in Honour of the Daffodil Campaign

Leave a comment

online picI’ve been making calls for the past month to recruit canvassers for the Canadian Cancer Society’s annual Daffodil Campaign in April. I decided to sign up as an Online Canvasser and encourage my friends to make donations. If you sign up in a hurry, you’ll see your name as the top online canvasser!!!  Mine was the only name in the list when I signed up. I think it’s because I was the first person to make a donation.  🙂 Pretty cool.

One of the things I love about not just having one cause to support is that you just never know what your friends will respond to.  One of my friends has signed up to take a kit to work to collect donations from her co-workers (Thanks Tracy ;). One of my co-workers has pledged a donation already. I have a third friend who I forgot to call back (and I’m going to do that tomorrow!) because she indicated she would also be interested in supporting the campaign.  Cancer is just one of those things I guess. It’s touched all of us and many of us know cancer survivors.

I live in a condo and I’m not super keen to knock on doors myself (I know, how can I talk other people into it???) so I decided to become an online canvasser instead.  It’s great that the campaign has all these options and that some are less pressure. I mean, not everyone is up to it but I’ve talked to people who really like going door to door every year and they enjoy connecting with their neighbours.  I talked to a woman last week who doesn’t want to fundraise but she said she really hopes her neighbour Mike is going to do it again because she really looks forward to his visits!  I haven’t successfully signed Mike up yet but I left him a voice-mail to let him know Margaret said to tell him she is really proud of him. It’s moments like those that makes all the hang-ups worthwhile!

But if you’re not like Margaret or Mike and maybe you’re a little more like me, check out my page for starters and maybe make a donation while you’re there or get yourself registered and start inviting friends and family.  My goal is $100.  Care for a little friendly challenge?  Think you can raise more than me?  I’d love to see you try. Sincerely!

Happy Pink Monday!

Theresa

Leave a Reply

