PINK MONDAY

putting our money where our heart is

My Favourite Charity Hubs

Leave a comment

Support charity in honour of a loved one this Christmas and don't leave the comfort of your own home!

Support charity in honour of a loved one this Christmas and don’t leave the comfort of your own home!

The greatest thing about giving to a charity in honour of a loved one is you can wait till the last minute!  I’m doing a bit of both this year for my family but to send the real presents on time out of province, I had to finish all my shopping, wrapping and parcelling this weekend.  I did it!  I’m ready!  It’s going to the post office today.  Whew!

So if you ask someone else to give to charity in your name, you’re giving them a gift too – the gift of time!!!  The gift of not having to compete with the other holiday shoppers and stand in long lines!  The gift of never even having to step foot in a post office!  The gift of not driving around for 28 minutes just looking for parking!

But where to start?  I wanted my family to choose a charity on their own so I didn’t give too much direction.  I thought it might be helpful though if I posted links to a few websites that are charity hubs – that represent a variety of causes where you can browse, as if in a virtual charity mall, to find the cause that you think will be the best fit.  This list includes Canadian specific sites and some from other countries as well. I’ve used many of these sites and some were referred.  None are from a random google search.  Though you can try that too!

I know there are more than these so if you know of some great ones, please let me know! Like this page sent to me by my friend Rayna.  It’s an article in Best Health Magazine about gifts that help others.

Happy Shopping!

Leave a Reply

